NICE TO MEET YOU

Learn more about me

IMG_5495_edited.jpg
 

ALL ABOUT ME

FAMILY

My husband, Jeremy Burrus, and I have two sons, Joshua and Andrew. They are both students in the ICCSD and attended Lincoln during the 2020-2021 school year. We recently moved; therefore, for the 2021-2022 school year, Andrew will be switching from Lincoln to Lemme. He will be entering 4th grade. Josh will be entering 6th grade and decided to finish up his elementary school experience at Lincoln.  Both previously attended Mann and Hoover.

EDUCATION

I have a PhD in Industrial-Organizational Psychology with a minor in Quantitative Psychology from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.  My undergraduate degree is in Psychology with a minor in Business Administration from Western Kentucky University.

EXPERIENCE

15+ years of educational research experience. Currently a principal solutions designer in the Research department at ACT.  Previously worked at the College Board.


Focused on supporting appropriate uses and valid interpretations of test scores, including both cognitive and non-cognitive assessments. Skilled at evaluating efficacy claims of learning tools (e.g., interventions, instructional programming, supplemental resources) in light of presented evidence/data. 


Advanced understanding of  models of educational and workplace success and the competencies (knowledge, skills and abilities) that are most critical for future success in college and career. 

INTERESTS

I love being active and enjoying nature with family and friends. I like running, hiking, biking, fishing, and camping with my family.  I have a black belt in Taekwondo.

Jeremy and I both enjoy travelling; we want to expose our sons to different places and cultures. One of our goals is to visit all 50 states before Josh and Andrew head off to college.

SERVICE

I previously served as the treasurer for the Mann BASP board. Jeremy and I have coached several of our sons’ soccer and basketball teams over the last 7 years. I served as a surrogate for a friend last year.

BACKGROUND

I grew up in Germantown, TN (suburb of Memphis). Moved to Iowa City in December of 2013. My mother was a special education teacher.

 
IC_edited.jpg